For Physicians and Medical Retailers Information for patients can be found here.

Return to activity with SecuTec Genu and GenuTrain Bending, stretching, flying

Issue 01/2020

Following their knee surgeries, two professional Chinese football players carried out their first rehabilitation training units at LANS Medicum in Hamburg, Germany. Supports and orthoses also helped on the floor and during simulated free flight.

Return to activity with a flight simulator and GenuTrain: Birte Gehrmann (left) and her physio team helped with the rehabilitation of the Chinese football players.

A young woman is lying face down on the supporting strap of a metal frame. She’s wearing virtual reality goggles, and a GenuTrain support on her left knee. Gan Xiaoman is holding on tight to the two control handles. The device called ICAROSflight is ready for lift-off. The simulated flight goes up and down. By controlling the movements, the young Chinese athlete trains different muscle groups in the torso, increases strength and her sense of balance and works on stability and response skills. This playful training marks the completion of her stay at LANS Medicum, after the active professional football player injured her knee. LANS Medicum, Center for Sports and Regenerative Medicine, is located right behind Planten un Blomen, not far from Hamburg-Dammtor station. On the building from the late nineteenth century, we can see the inscription meaning ‘Post Master General’. Today, medical facilities can be found there in which patients from all over the world are treated.

Chinese-German (co)operation

Gan Xiaoman (left) and Dai Chenying benefiting from modern treatment methods at LANS Medicum.

Up to now, controlled bending and stretching were the main parts of the rehabilitation program for the Chinese patient. Physiotherapy units are a component of her return to activity road map. Gan Xiaoman is not alone in the German “training camp”: her younger teammate Dai Chenying shares her fate far away from home. Both women are part of Wuhan Jianghan University F.C., a China Women’s League club that was crowned champions in 2017. They were injured during the course of league play. Gan Xiaoman had knee problems even before then. While she tore her meniscus during a game, Dai Chenying contracted a rupture of the anterior cruciate ligament as well as meniscus lesion. As part of international cooperation between her club and the medical director at LANS Medicum, PD Dr. med. Philip Catalá-Lehnen, both players were able to go to Germany for expert treatment at the highest level of sports medicine.

GenuTrain as “parallel protection”

Dr. med. Matthias Buhs, knee and cartilage specialist from Quickborn, operated on Gan Xiaoman and Dai Chenying. He is also the head of the Northern German Cartilage Center. Following cruciate ligament reconstruction and meniscal suturing that went according to plan, the physician treated Dai Chenying with the SecuTec Genu hard frame orthosis, also following the previous treatment plan. “I ­regularly use this orthosis to secure the surgical outcome and to stabilize the joint ,” he explains. “It fits and protects perfectly.” Gan Xiaoman, on the other hand, was prescribed GenuTrain by Dr. Buhs. This compression support provides a post-operative bracing effect , offers slight stabilization and exerts moderate intermittent compression to the soft tissue during movement. In this way, it stimulates proprioception and reduces pain. “I also frequently use GenuTrain following cruciate ligament reconstruction – on the knee that didn’t undergo surgery,” Dr. Buhs adds. “To provide parallel prevention and complement mutual stability.”

The support is the preferred choice for rehabilitation, too

During orthopedic rehabilitation, the sports physician PD Dr. Catalá-Lehnen continued the surgeon’s choice for the post-operative follow-up treatment of the football players. “SecuTec Genu can be easily adjusted, and importantly, it can also be easily put on and taken off. This proved very convenient during the rehabilitation phase,” he explains. “Treatment with orthoses is an integral component of the result-oriented and successful rehabilitation concept after complex knee procedures.” During the training sessions at LANS Medicum, GenuTrain was the perfect choice for Dai Chenying and Gan Xiaoman. Together with her team, Birte Gehrmann, Physiotherapy Manager, developed a precise plan for the two recovering women. It is based on the return to activity algorithm. “The algorithm generates objective data to determine functional performance,” Birte Gehrmann explains. “As a whole, it is designed to enable the two athletes to safely return to their sport.” For a long time, a treatment approach primarily adjusted to wound healing times was the standard in rehabilitation. Now, however, functional rehabilitation has prevailed. It is not the injury that is at the center of measures but the goals set.

PD Dr. med. Philip Catalá-Lehnen brought the players to LANS Medicum for sports medical treatment. 

Return to activity road map

Knee specialist Dr. med. Matthias Buhs performed surgery on the two injured athletes and prescribed orthoses and supports after the procedures.

LANS Medicum in Hamburg is a sports science center which is unique in the world. The at LANS Medicum interdisciplinary team with experience in elite sports, consisting of sports physicians, physiotherapists, other specialist physicians, osteopaths and sports scientists, is convinced by the use of the algorithm as a treatment tool: “With its help, we can determine as early as the rehabilitation phase whether an increase in strain is possible,” Birte Gehrmann says. “During certain exercises, GenuTrain was able to show off its strengths, which lie in movement therapy,” the physiotherapist explains. “The two athletes didn’t know the functional principles of the supports, but were quickly won over by the positive results.” After four weeks in Hamburg, Dai Chenying and Gan Xiaoman returned to China. Recommendations for the last stage of the return to activity road map were explained to the colleagues subsequently treating the athletes in China and provided to them on paper.

GenuTrain joined the return journey on the athletes’ knees

PD Dr. Catalá-Lehnen sees his time at LANS Medicum as a success: “Even though we weren’t able to fully leverage our services because of the short time, we know that those two are on the right track to return to play. Perhaps we’ll see them again soon – on television, during one of the matches against the German national women’s team.” 

Images: Eva Häberle,  COVZ (1)


Articles you could be interested in

Individuelle funktionelle Therapie mit GenuTrain

Tailored functional treatment with GenuTrain “Hygge” for the knee

The Danes are an active people. Feeling at ease while running together is the athletic version of “hygge”, the special Danish feeling of …

The new GenuTrain knee support Today’s Train generation

Three elements come together to ensure the effectiveness of GenuTrain. The eighth generation of the knee support demonstrates its systematic …

Für Ärzte und Partner im Gesundheitswesen Informationen für Patienten finden Sie hier.

Return to Activity mit SecuTec Genu und GenuTrain Beugen, strecken, fliegen

Ausgabe 01/2020

Zwei Fußballspielerinnen der chinesischen Profiliga absolvierten nach ihrer Knieoperation auch erste Reha-Trainingseinheiten im Hamburger LANS Medicum. Am Boden und im simulierten Freiflug halfen auch Bandagen und Orthesen.

Return to Activity mit Flugsimulator und ­GenuTrain: Birte Gehrmann (links) und ihr Physio-Team begleiteten die Rehabilitation der Chinesinnen.

Eine junge Frau liegt bäuchlings auf dem Gurt eines Metallgestells. Vor den Augen trägt sie eine Virtual-Reality-Brille, an ihrem linken Knie eine GenuTrain-Bandage. Gan Xiaoman hat ihre Hände fest um zwei Steuergriffe gelegt. ICAROSflight , so heißt das Gerät , ist fertig zum Abheben. Auf und ab geht es im simulierten Flug. Beim Steuern trainiert die junge Chinesin unterschiedliche Muskelgruppen des Rumpfs, steigert Kraft und Balancegefühl , übt ihre Stabilitäts- und Reaktionsfähigkeiten. Das spielerische Training ist der Abschluss ihres Aufenthalts im LANS Medicum, nachdem sich die aktive Profifußballerin am Knie verletzt hatte. Das LANS Medicum, Zentrum für Sport- und Regenerationsmedizin, hat gleich hinter Planten un Blomen unweit vom Bahnhof Hamburg-Dammtor seinen Sitz. Am riesigen Gründerzeithaus steht noch „Oberpostdirektion“ geschrieben. Heute sind dort medizinische Einrichtungen untergebracht , in denen Patienten aus aller Welt behandelt werden.

Chinesisch-deutsche (Ko-)Operation

Gan Xiaoman (links) und Dai Chenying profitierten von den modernen Therapiemethoden am LANS Medicum.

Bisher standen vor allem dosiertes Beugen und Strecken auf dem Programm der chinesischen Reha-Patientin. Die physiotherapeutischen Einheiten sind Teil ihres Return-to-Activity-Fahrplans. Und Gan Xiaoman ist nicht allein im deutschen „Trainingslager“: Mit ihrer jüngeren Teamkollegin Dai Chenying bildet sie fernab der Heimat eine Schicksalsgemeinschaft. Beide Frauen gehören dem Wuhan Jianghan University F. C. an, einem Club der China Women’s League, der 2017 den Meistertitel gewonnen hat. Im Laufe des Ligabetriebs verletzten sie sich. Schon vorher hatte Gan Xiaoman Kniebeschwerden. Während sie sich bei einem Spiel einen Meniskusriss zuzog, erlitt Dai Chenying eine Ruptur des vorderen Kreuzbands sowie eine Meniskusläsion. Im Rahmen einer internationalen Kooperation ihres Vereins zum Ärztlichen Direktor des LANS Medicums, PD Dr. med. Philip ­Catalá-Lehnen, konnten beide Spielerinnen zur Expertenbehandlung nach Deutschland kommen und hier nach höchstem sportmedizinischen Anspruch behandelt werden.

GenuTrain als „Parallelschutz“

Operiert wurden Gan Xiaoman und Dai Chen­ying von dem Quickborner Knie- und Knorpelspezialisten Dr. med. Matthias Buhs. Er leitet das Norddeutsche Knorpelzentrum. Der Arzt versorgte Dai Chenying nach planmäßig verlaufener Kreuzbandplastik und Meniskusnaht ebenso planmäßig mit der Hartrahmenorthese SecuTec Genu. „Diese Orthese setze ich regelmäßig zur Sicherung des Operationsergebnisses und zur Stabilisierung des Gelenks ein“, erklärt er. „Sie sitzt und schützt perfekt.“ Gan Xiaoman hingegen wurde von Dr. Buhs eine GenuTrain verordnet.
Die Kompressionsbandage stützt postoperativ, stabilisiert leicht und übt moderaten Wechseldruck bei Bewegungen auf das Weichteilgewebe aus. Dadurch regt sie die Propriozeption an und lindert Schmerzen. „Die GenuTrain wird von mir auch oft nach Kreuzbandplastiken eingesetzt – am nicht operierten Knie“, ergänzt Dr. Buhs, „als Parallelschutz und gegenseitige Stabilitätsergänzung.“

Bandage auch in Reha Mittel der Wahl

Die Wahl des Chirurgen für die postoperative Nachbehandlung der Fußballerinnen führte der Sportmediziner PD Dr. Catalá-Lehnen in der orthopädischen Reha fort. „Die SecuTec Genu ist gut einstellbar und vor allem leicht an- und abzulegen, was sich in der Rehabilitationsphase als sehr praktisch erwies“, erläutert er. „Die Orthesenversorgung gehört fest zum zielorienterten und erfolgreichen Rehabilitationskonzept nach komplexen Knieeingriffen.“ Während den Trainingseinheiten im LANS Medicum war dann die GenuTrain für Dai Chenying und Gan Xiaoman das Mittel der Wahl. Birte Gehrmann, Leitung Physiotherapie, entwickelte mit ihrem Team einen minuziösen Plan für die beiden Rekonvaleszentinnen. Ihm liegt der sogenannte Return-to-Activity-Algorithmus zugrunde. „Der Algorithmus generiert objektive Daten zur Bestimmung der funktionellen Leistungsfähigkeit“, führt Birte Gehrmann aus. „Er soll in seiner Gesamtheit den beiden eine sichere Rückkehr in ihren Sport ermöglichen.“ Lange Zeit bestimmte in der Rehabilitation ein primär an Wundheilungszeiten orientierter Behandlungsansatz das Vorgehen. Mittlerweile hat klar die funktionelle Rehabilitation die Oberhand gewonnen. Nicht die Verletzung steht im Mittelpunkt , sondern die gesteckten Ziele.

PD Dr. med. Philip Catalá-Lehnen holte die Spielerinnen zur sportmedizinischen Betreuung ins LANS Medicum.

Return-to-Activity-Fahrplan

Kniespezialist Dr. med. Matthias Buhs operierte die beiden Verletzten und verordnete ihnen nach dem ­Eingriff Orthesen und ­Bandagen.

Das LANS Medicum in Hamburg ist ein weltweit einzigartiges sportmedizinisches Zentrum. Das interdisziplinäre Team von spitzensporterfahrenen Sportmedizinern, Physiotherapeuten, Fachärzten, Osteopathen und Sportwissenschaftlern des LANS Medicum nutzt überzeugt den Algorithmus als Therapie-Instrument: „Mit dessen Hilfe können wir schon während der Rehabilitation beurteilen, ob eine Belastungssteigerung möglich ist“, so Birte Gehrmann. „Bei bestimmten Übungen konnte dann auch die GenuTrain ihre Stärken, die in der Bewegungstherapie liegen, ausspielen“, schildert die Physiotherapeutin. „Die beiden Sportlerinnen kannten das Wirkprinzip der Bandagen nicht , waren aber schnell von den Erfolgen überzeugt.“ Nach vier Wochen Aufenthalt in Hamburg traten Dai Chenying und Gan Xiaoman die Heimreise nach China an. Empfehlungen für die letzten Phasen des Return-to-Activity-Fahrplans wurden den nachbehandelnden Kollegen in China erläutert und in Papierform mitgegeben.

GenuTrain reiste direkt am Knie mit

PD Dr. Catalá-Lehnen sieht den Aufenthalt im LANS Medicum als Erfolg: „Auch wenn wir unsere Leistungen aufgrund der relativ kurzen Dauer nicht voll zur Geltung bringen konnten, wissen wir, dass die beiden auf einem guten Weg hin zum Return to Play sind. Vielleicht sehen wir sie bald wieder – im Fernsehen, bei einem Spiel gegen die deutsche Frauen-­Nationalmannschaft.“ 

Bilder: Eva Häberle, COVZ (1)


Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren

Individuelle funktionelle Therapie mit GenuTrain

Individuelle funktionelle Therapie mit GenuTrain „Hygge“ am Knie

Ein aktives Volk, die Dänen. Beim Laufen sich gemeinsam wohlfühlen, ist die sportliche Variante von „Hygge“, dem speziell dänischen Glücksgefühl. …

Die neue Kniebandage GenuTrain Die Train-Generation von heute

Drei Elemente machen zusammen die Wirkung der GenuTrain aus. Die achte Generation der Kniebandage veranschaulicht ihre systematische …